1. 2017 FUNDRAISER

    2017 brings with it a new server for the site. Any donations to support the ongoing costs of keeping this running will be greatly received. See this thread for more information.

NDEV no video without pc host?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Game Development' started by ASSEMbler, Jan 25, 2012.

  1. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,537
    Likes Received:
    872
    Is ndev like amcddh? No video without pc host command?

    Also notice it has no internal hdd, so I assume it uses host pc
    hdd.

    Very interesting.
     
  2. graphique

    graphique Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yeah, you have to have it hooked up to a PC via USB (with the elusive drivers installed) or it won't do anything at all.
    Not sure if you really need all 3 USB cables at once or not.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2012
  3. G0dLiKe

    G0dLiKe <B>Site Supporter 2013</B>

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    4
    u g pm assembler
     
  4. superspeed

    superspeed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B>

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also just got one of these units and don't know where to start setting it up. When I turn it on I get no display either. Anyone know where I get the drivers ect. for this?
     
  5. graphique

    graphique Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    13
    It won't display video unless you have it attached via USB to a PC, with the drivers installed. If you look around on the intercomputers you should be able to find a copy of the Wii RVL SDK that has the drivers in it. Good luck, soldier.
     
  6. superspeed

    superspeed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B>

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the rest of the equipement that the guy I got my NDEV from which was 7 NDEV's and 13 IS-Nitro-Emulators and the PC's they were ran on. They have the software installed on them along with the drivers. After I get them setup and running is there a way to use regular games on them?
     
  7. graphique

    graphique Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    13
    I dunno, maybe it would be possible, if you ripped the .dol file off of a regular game, and then generated a DLF file from it the same way as the ndrun script does (I don't know exactly how), and then used ODEM to mount that DLF file. This is a total guess though. Try experimenting with the stuff in the NDEV\bin directory (NdevRun etc)

    The real answer is probably: "Don't bother".
     
    G0dLiKe likes this.
  8. superspeed

    superspeed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B>

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I will play around with the ds tools and see what I can come up with.
     
  9. superspeed

    superspeed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B>

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I found a game on one of the towers I got and let me tell you just trying to start the game was a learning process. :p But defenitly worth the effort! These things are so cool and I am getting used to the way it's setup and ran.
     
  10. Headcrab

    Headcrab (BigEvilCorporation)

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    44
    What game? Is it an early build? Would you be willing to share (if it meets the site rules)?
     
  11. superspeed

    superspeed <B>Site Supporter 2012</B>

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have found more 1 game has several different revisions of it. There is also a build of a game that was never finished :O I googled the name of it and came up with nothing. I'm not sure of the sites rules on shareing these so for now I can't share them sorry.
     

Share This Page