SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

NaoPi

Discussion in 'Arcade and Supergun' started by Paolo63, Feb 26, 2014.

  1. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, I've seen this question only today.
    Sure, whatever cable you please, the network "plug" on the RaspberryPi is autosensing so it detects automatically how is the wiring :)
    I'm waiting for your tests !
     
  2. sparksterz

    sparksterz Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll let you know...it's probably going to be a little while off for me as I don't yet have a cabinet. I'm trying to piece together everything I need and this news happened to coincide around the same time. I've got a 2 Naomi motherboards, 2 Capcom I/O's with cables, a cart, and a Net Dimm. I'm now trying to line up what I need for this (Raspberry Pi/other components). It's still looking like I'm in need of a supergun/Sun PSU before I can actually officially test this. So if you have any leads let me know ;)
     
  3. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    And this is my dip switch selector... a little ugly but functional ;)

    NaoPiAndDipSwitch.jpg

    The hdmi cable is there for testing purpose. This is a minimal but functional distribution so you can login and in case run or modify the python scripts. What's not present is the graphical environment (and a lot of other things) just to remain at a minimum size.

    By the way, you can still run the games the old way, i.e. without dip switches as wrote on the site.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  4. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Uh... so you're putting all together right now ?
    For sure you need a PSU naturally, but it's not a normal unit, it needs a good 3.3v apart 5 and 12.
    So the first step is to make the game/cart you have run.
    There shoul be an audio amplifier too, but you can use anything you want for this.
    But I'm using a "naked" Naomi installation at the momento too, as you can see on the site... so it can be easily be done ;)
     
  5. vectrex_rox

    vectrex_rox Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1
    humm i end with ERROR34 Gateway cannot be found.

    or constantly CHECKING NETWORK.


    The NetDimm is set to Remote ENABLE.

    my Dimm ver is 4.02 ... Naomi Bios EXPORT

    when i enter the network TEST MODE it gives REMOTE: BAD
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  6. sparksterz

    sparksterz Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah, so you don't actually have any of the controls hooked up at the moment so it's just the system, net dimm, PSU, and raspberry pi?
     
  7. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    A picture is worth a thousand words :)

    nakedNaomi.jpg

    So are you already set ? Have you all the things going ? Does the game/board (not the net dimm) works ?
     
  8. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you ready to debug a little ? First of all can you enable the log as wrote on the site and post it here ? Just to have an evidence if someone will try it in the future :)
    Then, could you have a monitor/tv and a keyboard attached to the Raspberry ?
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  9. vectrex_rox

    vectrex_rox Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1
    i connect Raspberry to TV it boots and then sits at the login:
     
  10. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah, and the pic you've how is ? Zeroed or another one ?
    I must admit my security chip should be a zeroed one but, reading from the triforetool.py I think any security chip should work well... I hope...
     
  11. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Perfect, two things: first enable the logging, restart all and please let me have the log file.
    Then, to log on the Raspi the user is "root" without password.
    Then you've to make a "ps" to see if there is a python process working.


    Uhm.... perhaps we need a skype chat... :) if you want
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  12. vectrex_rox

    vectrex_rox Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1
    i for now disconnected the DIP switch and just put one file on the USB stick.


    I hope my file is decrypted , 0ed ???

    enable loging ? how where ?
     
  13. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Read on the site, you've to create a configuration file in the same folder you've put the .bin images and write a line there...

    I’ve implemented a way to modify some parameters of the loader.
    First you have to create a file named naopi.cfg on the naopi folder of your USB memory (the same place where you’ve put your *.bin game images)
    Here you can write lines in the form of key=value using the following keys:
    logfile – the value will be the name of the log file that will be create on the naopi folder
     
  14. vectrex_rox

    vectrex_rox Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1
    there is no process named: python
     
  15. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, so it probably crashed. You can now go to /etc/init.d/ and there run ./naopi




    I've sent you a pm with my skype... but please try to record the log before
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  16. vectrex_rox

    vectrex_rox Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok i create the folder ... and the cfg file

    now python is running
     
  17. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    So you've logged in, made the configuration file and started naopi, in this order ?
    Ok, now start again the Naomi board... you should see something on the screen and the log file will be created
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2014
  18. sparksterz

    sparksterz Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Alright I've got a supergun by The Last Bandit on the way, once I get the PSU situation straightend out I should be good to test. I'm not sure I'll get it before you need to return your net dimm though.
     
  19. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't worry. Saturday I'll speak with the person who lent it to me and ask for an extension, there will be no problem I'm sure :)
     
  20. Paolo63

    Paolo63 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Today I'll post a new release where I've put the loop on the triforcetools.py to avoid to use the key chip at all.
    Hope to hear you soo.. my only two tester :)

    Paolo
     

Share This Page