Japanese Learners - Language Discussion

Discussion in 'Japan Forum: Living there or planning a visit.' started by ave, Jan 19, 2012.

1. ave

ave JAMMA compatible

I thought maybe this could be a good idea, or maybe it is not. If this remains a thread with 0 posts after 4 weeks, feel free to take out the trash and close it LOL.

Anyway, MAYBE there are some people on this board who are currently learning Japanese and would like to discuss their experiences, ask questions that go beyond the translations from the "Translation Thread".

I am currently in my 2nd term and enjoying the ride. I've been learning Japanese on my own essentially for the past 5 years, but I forgot almost all the grammar and lots of vocab. Now I'm at about 700 words & 220 Kanji. The course is lvl. 151 which is a combination of 103 and 104 (2nd year), so I am looking forward to take 200 or 250 level in September. Any course after 251/204 is already eligible for native speakers, so I guess things go pretty fast, hahah.

There must be people other than those who are either on a very high level or haven't learnt it at all but always wanted to. Anyone else who's in the process and would like to discuss stuff? And our

"Tsuyokute kakkoyoku otoko no hito no nihon ni sunde iru dounenpai gaijin kurabu"

is of course encouraged to give advice. :p

Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  2. cypherpunk

cypherpunk Active Member

どこで日本語を勉強していますか。
    どんな教科書をお作っていますか。
    ありがとう。

3. Mystery

Mystery Member

Great thread.

Right now I'm trying the AJATT method. After a couple of short Japanese classes and the usual books, I'm giving it a shot.

Currently I'm rushing through Heisig's RTK Vol.1 and have finished about 600 Kanji. Hopefully I'll be done with the Kanji in 2-3 months and then I'll start SRS-ing sentences.

Whenever I'm not learning, I'm listening to some random japanese podcasts to get comfortable with the language.

Let's see where this takes me :)