SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

ED N8 FDS sound emulation issues

Discussion in 'Everdrive N8' started by harry1038, May 2, 2014.

1. harry1038

harry1038 Active Member

Hello, with my Famicom that works with the Everdrive N8 I tried to play the Japanese FDS version of Metroid to check if it worked properly (I've played a lot of the real FDS version). I noticed that, while the FDS extra audio channel is indeed implemented, it seems to be too quiet. I've recorded the item recovery jingle from both the real and the ED emulated version of the game as best as I could (I'm not a professional) using my PC's line-in jack. You can find both versions of the jingle there in .wav format (if you can't open it use VLC): https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xqva8g55ezfdxv6/7ejDBIMmoE

As you can hear the ED N8 jingle sounds more like the NES version of the game because the extra channel is too quiet.

I'm posting this here so that both Krikzz and everyone else can see it, and I'm hoping that he can fix the sound emulation. I'm going to try this with other FDS games that I own in the coming days to check if it's only Metroid or not, I'll update this post once I do.

Please note that since I only tried this with one game (although I've tried several ROMs of the Japanese Metroid) and one console, I'm not entirely sure for now whether this issue is in every game or even if it affects every Famicoms. I'd be glad if others with all the required equipment can test this too.

Last edited: May 2, 2014
  2. Bearking

Bearking Konsolkongen

I hope it's alright that I ask this here, since it's related. If I use a Famicom Everdrive with an AV-Famicom, will I get expansion audio?

I remember seeing someone soldering between two pins, but if I recall that was when using the Famicom Everdrive with an adapter in a toaster NES :)

3. MottZilla

MottZilla Guardian of the Forum