SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

Best way to learn hiragana and katakana?

Discussion in 'Japan Forum: Living there or planning a visit.' started by MonkeyBoyJoey, Jan 3, 2017.

1. MonkeyBoyJoey

MonkeyBoyJoey 70's Robot Anime Geppy-X (PS1) Fanatic

Hello everyone! I started learning Japanese through Pimsleur last month. While it is amazing and I'm grasping the language with ease, it is audio only. So I was wondering what would be the best way for me to learn Hiragana and Katakana so I can start reading and eventually writing?

I remember as a little kid, I had a Windows 98 program which helped me learn how to read English (my native language). I then learned to write using worksheets and such in school. Is there anything similar to that program and worksheets for the Japanese language and non-native speaking adults?

I have rented the box set of Living Language's Complete Japanese: The Basics from the library and while it is designed to teach Japanese through reading and writing, it uses a modified version of hepburn romaji instead of the Japanese script, which is making it a little more difficult since I would see some words and instantly think of the English word instead of the Japanese word.

I would like to be able to read hiragana and katakana so that way I won't be confusing the words that are spelled similarly to some English words. What method do you guys and gals recommend? Any advice would be highly appreciated!

EDIT: A quick note about kanji... I'll tackle kanji once I have hiragana and katakana under my belt. If there is a method for easily learning the most commonly used ones, do feel free to post it though!

2. MasterOfPuppets

MasterOfPuppets Site Supporter 2013

MonkeyBoyJoey likes this.
  3. MonkeyBoyJoey

4. DeChief

DeChief Rustled.

5. Doomtrain

Doomtrain Active Member